Richard J. Scott Award

Congratulations are extended to Saul Simmonds, Q.C. recipient of the 2019 Richard J. Scott Award.

An Award Ceremony and Reception for Mr. Simmonds will take place at the conclusion of the Lectures.

This Award was created in 2013 in honour of Richard J. Scott, former Chief Justice of Manitoba, and is awarded annually to a person who promotes the rule of law through advocacy, writing or education.

Mr. Simmonds is a partner in the firm Gindin Wolson Simmonds Roitenberg.  Saul’s career as a criminal defence lawyer has been dedicated to advancing the rule of law through legal advocacy and legal education and supporting access to justice for all Manitobans. Saul has advanced the rights of clients before all levels of court in Manitoba and in the Supreme Court of Canada and has made significant contributions to legal education and the enhancement of advocacy skills in the legal profession by sharing his legal knowledge through teaching, and legal research and writing.

The Richard J. Scott Award is presented annually by the Law Society of Manitoba to an individual who advances the rule of law through advocacy, litigation, teaching, research or writing. Activities that support an independent judiciary, an independent legal profession, access to legal services, access to justice, and public interest advocacy are all eligible.

The award honours former Chief Justice Richard Scott,  who served as Manitoba’s Chief Justice for over 20 years and is a Past President of the Law Society of Manitoba.  The award is presented in conjunction with the annual Pitblado Lectures in November of each year.  The Honourable Mr. Scott will serves as Chair of the Selection Committee.

Past Recipients

Karen Dyck (2018)

John Myers (2017)

Jeff Hirsch (2016)

Allan Fineblit, Q.C. (2015)

Irene Hamilton, Q.C. (2014)

Byron Williams (2013)

© Copyright - The Law Society of Manitoba