Richard J. Scott Award


Richard J. Scott original.jpg

The Richard J. Scott Award is presented annually by the Law Society of
Manitoba to an individual who advances the rule of law through advocacy,
litigation, teaching, research or writing. Activities that support an
independent judiciary, an independent legal profession, access to legal
services, access to justice, and public interest advocacy are all eligible.

The award honours former Chief Justice Richard Scott,  who served as
Manitoba’s Chief Justice for over 20 years and is a Past President of the
Law Society of Manitoba.  The award is presented in conjunction with
the annual Pitblado Lectures in November of each year.  The Honourable
Mr. Scott will serves as Chair of the Selection Committee.

The deadline for nominations is September 28, 2018.  


Nominations can be sent to:

Chief Executive Officer
The Law Society of Manitoba
200 - 260 St. Mary Avenue
Winnipeg, MB   R3C 0M6
by e-mail to Pat Bourbonnais

Nominations should be accompanied by the nominee’s c.v. and
an explanation as to why the nominee deserves this award.

For more information, contact Kris Dangerfield
at 204-926-2013 or by e-mail at

Past Recipients Include:

Byron Williams (2013)

Irene Hamilton (2014)

Allan Fineblit (2015)

Jeff Hirsch (2016)

John Myers (2017)